My Mini P-Town Vacation

Sooo… This weekend, I took Brittany off to Providence for a mini vacation, because my family isn’t going on one this year, and she was sad. I worked Friday Morning from 9am-11, went home, gathered all our stuff together, and left for P-town a little after noon. We arrived at Michelle’s around 1:30, and got to hang out with her for most of the day which was awesome. Friday night we accompanied her to the Intaglio Studio where she was working on her edition. She was kind enough to give me an intro into the process, and even let me etch a small copperplate. She taught me how to ink up the plate and hand wipe it…then we printed my little practice plate- and voila! I made my very first intaglio print ever. It is now happily pinned to my little cork board above my desk. Who knew I’d actually learn something while I was away?

After that Friday night, we had to rescue Lily’s friend who was lost in P-town for over an hour trying to find her apartment…then we went to her house and watched most of The Muppet movie until we all pooped out and walked hoem to Michelle’s. We went to sleep around 4 or so…

Saturday Brittany and I walked around Thayer, got smoothies, went to the candy store and spent a fortune, went back to Michelle’s, watched Napoleon Dynamite, and ate lots of snacks. Michelle got off work and we walked up to Thayer to meet her and then we went to see March of The Penguins at the Avon. The film was brilliant. Beautifully shot. Very well done. I loved it, and highly reccommend it to all. After the movie, we went back to Michelle’s and hung out for a bit before I drove Lily and Jannae home. Sunday Brittany and I went to teh RISD muesum which was very nice and enjoyable. Then we attempted to take pictures walking around on Benefit street, but it wasn’t really a good picture taking day as it was too bright out… so we went to the mall instead and I bought Wonderfalls on DVD, it was a Fox show that only aired 4 0f the 13 episodes…its pretty goood, and quirky. After that we hung around Michelle’s until she got out of work. Them Michelle made us a very nice spagetti dinner and it was yummy. Then Jannae and Mark came over and we walked up to Jesse’s apartment and watched the Talking Heads movie, Stop Making Sense. Very Very good. So then we left, got some french fries, and called it a night. Monday morning Britt and I packed up and left P-town around 10:40, as I had to be at work later that afternoon. I had a blast hanging out with Michelle as much as possible, and I was glad I got to see Mark and Lily, Jannae and Jesse. I think Brittany had a really good time and that’s what I wanted most of all. Much happiness this weekend for sure. I hope Michelle knows how much her hospitality was appreciated. Anyway, here I go- I’m out to dinner with my family.

Leave a comment