Resolutions & Reflections

Wow. What a year. 2009 has been quite eventful from start to finish. At 25, I already have so much to be thankful for, and a lot of that has come to me just within the past 12 months.

A wedding and honeymoon that could not have been more perfect, a beautiful & cozy new place to call home, & two new cats to round out the beginnings of our little family.

I am thankful that I still have a job, for as long as I want it, and that the past two years have made me capable of filling in some big shoes for a while. I am thankful that the time away from being creative has made me more passionate about art than ever. And I am thankful to have the support from the ones I love to even entertain the idea of pursuing what I think will make me truly happy.

But most importantly, I am thankful that my mother (who had a heart attack in July) is still with us, holding the family together as she always has. She is my best friend, and my life would mean nothing if I didn’t have her to share it with.

On this day, the second of a brand new year, I feel hopeful.

Hopeful that with enough dedication, motivation, and pure desire, I will reconnect with myself. Find that missing balance between working towards what I want while appreciating all that I have. I need to find my happy place again. Where I know how lucky I am and how I ought to be punched in the face for forgetting it at times.

I will harness my grouchiness and project more positivity. There’s no reason not to and no excuse for adding negative vibes to a world already consumed by them.

Little by little, I will do what is right for this body– this vessel on loan to me while I explore the physical world. I will stop feeding it too much and not enough. I must remember that vegetables are not my enemy and it will do me good to befriend them as soon as possible.

In short, I will take better care of myself both physically and mentally. The two are inherently symbiotic and I can’t hope to improve one state while neglecting the other.

So cheers to new beginnings. To new days, new chances, new opportunities to take our lives and start again. To me, everyday should be an awakening akin to Ebeneezer Scrooge’s: We should jump out of bed, throw back the curtains, and greet both the sunshine and rain with the euphoric declaration that comes only after divine intervention:

“I HAVEN’T MISSED IT!” I’m still here, and there’s still time.

Leave a Reply

